Religion & Festivals

The official religion is Islam, and is practised by the majority of Malays, and a portion of the Indian community. Under the constitution, other races are free to profess and practice any religion in an atmosphere of acceptance and tolerance. The other main religions include Buddhism, Hinduism, Sikhism and Christianity.

Most religious festivals are public holidays and celebrated nationwide regardless of race or belief. There are many fascinating observances in this culturally-rich land of different ethnic and religious backgrounds.

The festivals and new years do not have fixed dates as Christmas does. They are determined by calculations on the lunar calendar which means that no dates are the same from year to year.

To find out the dates of the following festivals for the current year please check the “Useful Information” section.
+ Hari Raya Aidilfitri [ more info ]
+ Thaipusam [ more info ]
+ Chinese New Year [ more info ]
+ Hari Raya Aidil Adha [ more info ]
+ Awal Muharram [ more info ]
+ Wesak Day [ more info ]
+ Sabah Kaamatan Festival [ more info ]
+ Sarawak Gawai Festival [ more info ]
+ The Birthday of SPB Yang Di Pertuan Agong [ more info ]
+ Prophet Muhammad’s Birthday [ more info ]
+ National Day [ more info ]
+ Moon Cake Festival [ more info ]
+ Deepavali [ more info ]
+ Christmas [ more info ]

Contact numbers for details and festival dates:
Malaysia Tourism Centre (MTC)
109, Jalan Ampang,
50450 Kuala Lumpur
Tel : 03- 2163 3664/2164 3929
Fax : 03- 2162 1149

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *